Laugton Rider List Harworth Rider List Stainton Rider List Race Format
Laughton Results Harworth Results Stainton results History

Race 1 Laughton Series: 26-04-07

Cold, clear and windy conditions greeted the first race of the 2007 North Midlands Road Racing League series.
For much of the race it appeared that the scratch riders would struggle to overcome the 8 1/2 minute handicap. However, their consistency resulted in their catching the rest of a slowing field with less than 2 miles to go.

In a bunch sprint, Marc Etches (Sheffrec CC) sprinted clear to win ahead of Tom Skubala (J E James RT)
and Daniel Storey (Sheffrec CC).


1 Marc Etches Sheffrec CC 24 miles in 52 mins 50secs
2 Tom Skubala JE James RT  
3 Daniel Storey Sheffrec CC  
4 Graham Waller Sheffrec CC  
5 Simon Keeton Rutland CC  
6 Michael Abonyi Rossington Wheelers  
7 Steve Ellis Rutland CC  
8 Rob Blackburn Newark Castle  
9 Chris Goddard Rutland CC  
10 Brent Storey Sheffrec CC All Same Time


Race 1 Finish:


Race 2 Laughton Series: 3-05-07

The race handicap would have run to plan with the field coming together on the final lap, except for the 3 juvenile riders, who having started with the long markers group, immediately rode away from them. Working well together throughout the whole of the race, they finished well over a minute ahead by the end where Ben Last (Stealth Racing Team/Chris Last Sports Massage) won the sprint from Adam Oliver & Alex Wallis (both Doncaster Wheelers/Don Valley Cycles). In fourth place was Ian Cooper (Doncaster Wheelers) who had ridden clear of the rest of the bunch.


1 Ben Last Stealth Racing Team/Chris Last Sports Massage 24miles in 59mins 48 secs
2 Adam Oliver Doncaster Wheelers/
Don Valley Cycles
3 Alex Wallis Doncaster Wheelers/
Don Valley Cycles
4 Ian Cooper Doncaster Wheelers/
Don Valley Cycles
At 1 minute
5 Dave Pratt TLI At 1 minute 15secs
6 G Walton JF Wilson Cycles  
7 Chris Pritchard Stealth Racing Team/Chris Last Sports Massage  
8 Rob Blackburn Newark Castle  
9 A Wasteney TLI  
10 Mark Fidler JE James RT  

Race 2

A little bit after…



Race 3 Laughton Series: 10-05-07

Better conditions resulted in the fastest race of the series so far. The original 5 handicap groups were reduced to 2 with 1 lap remaining and the scratch group finally caught the rest of the field with barely a mile to go. Ian Cooper (Doncaster Wheelers/Don Valley Cycles) attacked when the junction was made and looked a likely winner but faded on the uphill run up to the line and was caught with only 50 metres to go. Dave Pratt (TLI) was a clear winner, a length ahead of Marc Etches (Sheffrec CC) and Mark Fidler (J E James RT) with Cooper finishing in fourth place.


1 Dave Pratt TLI 24miles in 52 mins 24 secs
2 Marc Etches Sheffrec CC  
3 Mark Fidler JE James RT  
4 Ian Cooper Doncaster Wheelers/
Don Valley Cycles
5 Graham Waller Sheffrec CC  
6 Andrew Wasteney TLI  
7 Rob Blackburn Newark Castle  
8 Steve Ellis Rutland CC  
9 David Furniss Doncaster Wheelers/
Don Valley Cycles
10 Stephen Holmes Sheffrec CC All Same Time

Race 3 Finish:


Race 4 Laughton Series: 17-05-07

Bright and calm conditions stimulated the whole field into faster times, but in particular the longmarker group, which established a significant gap in the early laps. Although slowing in the later stages of the race they remained clear to contest the finish where Stephen Bye (Sheffrec CC) was a clear sprint winner ahead of John Hadley & Simon England (both Doncaster Wheelers/Don Valley Cycles).
Behind them, the rest of the field came together in the final stages but were still some 40 seconds behind at the line.

Marc Etches (Sheffrec CC) remains the overall leader after 4 races.


1 Steve Bye Sheffrec CC 24miles in 57 mins 5 secs
2 John Hadley Doncaster Wheelers/
Don Valley Cycles
3 Simon England Doncaster Wheelers/
Don Valley Cycles
4 Ron Pyne Rockingham CC  
5 Jim Mottram Sheffield Sports CC  
6 Stuart Knowles Sheffield Racing CC  
7 Neil Proctor Sheffrec CC  
8 Melvyn Woodhouse Dinnington RC/
Universal - Auditoria
9 David Claxton Sheffrec CC  
10 Matthew Hartley Sheffield Sports CC All Same Time

Race 4 Finish:

Race 5 Laughton Series: 24-05-07

Warm, calm conditions produced another fast race with all the groups starting well, but the race ended up being dominated by 2 riders. By half distance Tom Skubala (J E James RT) & Simon Keeton (Rutland CC) had left the scratch group and bridged the gap to the group in front. They then continued with this fast pace with every group caught being totally blown apart. By the final lap there were just 3 groups left with the remains of the scratch group now totally out of contention. On the bell, the leading group still had a 40 second advantage but Skubala & Keeton closed this with ease and at the finish Skubala sprinted clear to win 3 seconds ahead of Keeton with veteran Ron Pyne (Rossington Wheelers) taking the sprint for third place a further 5 seconds adrift.

The win means that Skubala is now joint leader in the overall series with Marc Etches (Sheffrec CC) who had a night off.

The NMRRL now moves to the Harworth circuit for the next set of 5 races.


1 Tom Skubala JE James RT 24miles in 1hr 02mins 51sec
2 Simon Keeton Rutland CC @ 3 seconds
3 Ron Pyne Rockingham CC @ 8 seconds
4 Peter Ryalls Sheffield Phoenix CC  
5 Daniel Hopkin Thurcroft CC  
6 Andrew Marsh Dinnington RC/
Universal - Auditoria
7 Dave Marshall TLI  
8 Stewart Knowles Sheffield Racing CC  
9 Alan Hamshaw Dinnington RC/
Universal - Auditoria
10 John Burrows South Elmsall CC  


Race 5 Finish: Sorry but the DVD disc corrupted!!!!!


Overall Standings

Web Design by Marc Etches
back to home